Skip to content
3 Comments
  1. February 12, 2010 11:33 am

    I only watched the first episode and for the first 90% of the show, I enjoyed it. However, it became a bit distasteful when the bottom two contestants had to compete to remain on the show through sexually suggestive dances and moves. My thought was, okay, if this were a competition between non-transgendered women, this would be exploitative. But I guess, I came into the show confusing what it means to be transgender versus dressing in drag (I apologize for my ignorance). If I am to get this right, RuPaul is not transgendered and dressing in drag does not necessarily mean transgendered. But does dressing in drag automatically mean, entertainer?
    I guess the problem with such a program addresses such issues superficially, is that such lifestyles are then exoticzed and are subject to a number of unsavory stereotypes (think Tina Tequila and the oversexualization of being a bisexual female….in my opinion)

    • February 13, 2010 7:51 am

      The majority of drag queens, especially gay male drag queens, do it as performance art. Drag shows are performed in clubs, and often involve lip synching, dancing, and comedy. Their drag persona is over the top and exaggerated.

      A man dressing in drag for non-performance purposes is usually a cross-dresser, and the majority of those are heterosexual males that get some sort of sexual gratification from wearing women’s clothing (but not all of them).

      Someone who is transgendered does not dress in drag as a performance thing, because for them, they don’t see it as drag. Drag queens are happy with their given genitalia and bodies, and drag is a performance for them. Transgendered people are not happy with their biological sex and wish to change it; they identify as female, and feel like thier body and their mind don’t match.

      Since RuPaul is a drag performer/entertainer, the nature of the show is to find the “next drag superstar.” These are people that do drag simply for entertainment purposes, and identify as drag performers. Therefore, the nature of performing on stage, dancing, and lip synching fits perfectly into what the show represents and embodies.

  2. Barry M permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:21 pm

    “she-male” is a highly derogatory term referring to trans women, and referencing such a term as a joke is downright offensive and transphobic. ”

    I’m not sure I agree with you. You *assume* “she-male” is the sole ownership of transexuals. I’m sorry, but i’m going to grab the name and run with it. Transexuals don’t own “she-male”. When I was 5 years old, I had kids come up to me and ask me if I was a boy or a girl. And to this day, I really do think I have a “female” brain (insides) that’s just been hooked up to a male body (outside packaging). I can call myself a she-male. I can call myself a lady-boy. Or like my grandma used to call me — a “sissy boy”. So, please don’t have a fit because Rupaul is using the word she-male. No offense, but you sound like a name-nazi.

Comments are closed.

  • Previous Series at GAB

  • TWITTER: What’s going on @GABblog

  • Top Posts

  • Recommended Reading

  • We participated in Blog for International Women’s Day 2010.

  • NetworkedBlogs

