Skip to content

Live Blog #5: What YOU have to say about equal rights

March 8, 2010

This post is a part of the Blog for IWD BLOG

Today is International Women’s Day, and we’ve asked you to blog about your thoughts about equal rights. Here’s what some of you are saying:

(Featured blogs after the jump: Voracious Vegan, Small Strokes, Change.org Women’s Rights, Heartfeldt Politics, Hello Ladies & Impulse Thoughtz)

On Voracious Vegan, Tasha answers the question “Why Feminism” is her post about IWD:

I hope you all take some time today to reflect on the struggles and victories made by generations of proud feminists and women’s rights activists before us. Without their sacrifices and determination none of us would be where we are today.I owe my education to them.

I owe my freedom to them. I owe my independence to them. I owe my ability to enjoy my life on my terms to them. I owe my ability to own property to them. I owe my ability to vote to them. I owe my ability to have any job I want to them. Without feminism I could never have this amazing life that I cherish so much.

[read complete post here]

Ashley over at Small Strokes writes about how she loves “being a woman” in her post about IWD:

I get to have a special relationship with my mom that only mothers and daughters have. I get to have a special relationship with my friends that only girlfriends have. I get to be a strong woman role model for those around me.

I am fortunate and privileged, I know. But the more I surround myself with amazing women, the more fortunate and privileged I feel to be a woman and to interact with this amazing community every day.

[read complete post here]

On Change.org Women’s Rights blog, Alex writes about unequal rights of women worldwide:

Why hasn’t the U.S. ratified CEDAW (Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women)? Does America support discrimination against women? Does it think that, rather than joining the almost 200 states who oppose discrimination, it should remain on the side of Iran, Nauru, Palau, Somalia, Sudan, and Tonga — the only six U.N. member state that have refused to sign the treaty? Unfortunately, the U.S.’s refusal to ratify legitimizes an anti-woman stance, and has encouraged other countries to try to backing out of enforcing the deal, a serious concern for groups that do work on women’s rights globally.

[read full post here]

Meanwhile, Gloria Feldt on Heartfeldt Politics reminds women that we can still fight for equal rights, in the U.S. and outside of the U.S.:

Women can only be disempowered from reaching full equality if we stay tethered to old constraints of custom and behavior that remain in our thinking. We need to understand our own strength, embrace it, and have the intention and courage to use it, for our own good and the good of the world.

[read the full post here]

Hello Ladies is suggesting five ways to celebrate International Women’s Day, in which the first is:

1. Support equal pay. Women still earn, on average, only .77 cents for every dollar a man earns. For women of color the gap is even greater. Despite the signing of the Lilly Ledbetter Act at the start of last year, we are not making progress in this area. The wage gap has widened. Let your senators know we need them to pass the Paycheck Fairness Act.

[read full post here]

Sarah at Impulse Thoughtz writes about one woman who made a difference in the fight for equal rights, Queen Noor:

Queen Noor, born Lisa Najeeb Halaby, has developed and worked toward equal rights for over three decades. Her focus is welfare and children rights, she began the Arab Children’s Congress in 1980. It is a yearly meeting for children all over the Arab world to travel together and learn about Jordan’s history and culture. She has began many educational and artistic endeavors with emphasis on women’s achievement as well as disadvantaged students.

Her continuous work with the United Nations, and recent endeavors with environmental organizations make her a heroine in the global justice movement. International Women’s Day raises awareness for global issues women face daily, as well as celebrating those women working toward a more peaceful world for women internationally.

[read the full post here]

Comments are closed.

  • Previous Series at GAB

  • TWITTER: What’s going on @GABblog

  • Top Posts

  • Recommended Reading

  • We participated in Blog for International Women’s Day 2010.

  • NetworkedBlogs

