Skip to content

Global Feminist Link Love March 29-April 4

April 5, 2010

Hey Global Feminists!

Here are a list of links about what other global feminists were up to this past week. We also want to know: What have you been reading/writing this week? Don’t forget to spread your own link love in the comments!



“If I win millions, I’ll open an ad agency that doesn’t take women for fools.”
Nadine Moawad remakes a Lebanese ad that used to read:
“If I win millions… I would definitely be able to find a husband”

Africa

Asia

  • Russia’s “Black Widows”: When Suicide Bombing Is Women’s Only Power (Women’s Rights – Change.org) “Following the recent subway bombings in Moscow, there has been a lot of talk of Chechnya’s “black widows”: female suicide bombers who attack in retribution for the murder of their husbands, sons, or brothers.”
  • LGBT Activism Under Attack in Surabaya, Indonesia Part 1 and 2 (International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission) “Staff members Grace Poore and Ging Cristobal of IGLHRC’s Asia & Pacific Program were in Surabaya, Indonesia for the ILGA Asia conference scheduled to begin in the East Java capital on Friday March 26 and run through the weekend to March 29 2010. However, on March 24th as participants began arriving in preparation for the weekend’s activities, Indonesian police ordered the cancellation of the conference after anti-LGBT pressure from Islamist fundamentalist groups… Grace Poore documented her experience.”
  • New film has Japan vets confessing to Nanjing rape (Salon) “For years, Japanese activist Tamaki Matsuoka tried to counter denials of her country’s notorious wartime massacre of civilians in the city of Nanjing with books and photo exhibitions. Now the retired teacher says she has indisputable proof of the atrocities: Japanese veterans admitting on camera they forced themselves on Chinese women and mowed down Chinese refugees with machine guns.”

Europe

Latin America

Middle East

Northern America

Oceania

  • 23rd Down Under Feminist Carnival (Fat Lot of Good)
  • The Woman I Want to Be (Fat Heffalump) “These moments happen, and I remember that as I grow older and stronger and more confident in myself, I am an example for other women. In my own way, I can show other women and girls that they are valuable, valid human beings with much to contribute to the world. I think about where I would be if I didn’t have women who were outside of the norm, who took that criticism and were themselves anyway, despite the heat they got for it.”

Global

See more global feminist news on our facebook page, twitter and tumblr. If you ever have suggestions for GFLL (whether they are your posts or someone else’s), feel free to email becky@genderacrossborders.com.


6 Comments
  1. April 5, 2010 1:29 pm

    Thank you so much for the link! I’m blown away that so many people are reading my words. I’m actually British and live in the UK, though! I think a lot of people blogging, especially around FA issues, are Americans though

    • April 6, 2010 9:45 am

      Sorry, Zaftig I will correct that for you. I’m an American who also blogs about FA issues, so I guess I just made assumptions. Great post!

  2. April 5, 2010 2:38 pm

    What an amazing blog; I am happy to now have you on my radar! Thank you for linking to Sexuality & Society!

  3. alicia permalink
    April 7, 2010 7:52 am

    Here is great blog post about the problematic partnership between Clitoraid and Good Vibrations : http://savingafrica.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/no-you-cant-have-my-clitoris/

  4. sleepydumpling permalink
    April 7, 2010 8:54 pm

    Thank you kindly for the link love!
    Fat Heffalump

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments

Comments are closed.

  • Previous Series at GAB

  • TWITTER: What’s going on @GABblog

  • Top Posts

  • Recommended Reading

  • We participated in Blog for International Women’s Day 2010.

  • NetworkedBlogs

