Skip to content

What does blogging mean to you?

April 26, 2010

I was moved by this post at The Pursuit of Harpyness and wanted to share it. The author shares honestly, allowing the reader to accompany her/him while s/he struggles through some convoluted, but important, thoughts. S/he struggles with the idea of blogging as activism, and wonders, as we all have, what role it takes in our work for equality. Later the same day I read this post by Amy at Science & Sensibility also exploring her thoughts about blogging but with a decidedly more positive tone. Her post also resonated with me because I, like her, have turned from a non-believer to a preacher of the power of social media to inspire social change.

I would love to hear from readers what purpose they believe a blog can serve. Last week I met an exceptional woman who encouraged me, and other bloggers, to “create your own media.” I have seen blogs, twitter, and facebook provide a vehicle for those who would never be able to speak through traditional media outlets. Word can spread like wild fire with little to no money spent, and language barriers fall more easily with online translations. (Even though we have heard repeatedly that the Arabic translation is pretty bad on wordpress. I promise we’re working on it!) Most importantly, those who may not be able to speak publicly for fear of retribution may post thoughts online.

Is this enough? Does the dissemination of information bring change? I would love to hear readers’ opinions, so please leave a comment!

9 Comments
  1. April 26, 2010 9:57 am

    I wrote this piece on my blog: http://feministfatale.com/2010/04/social-media-and-feminism-in-the-classroom-and-beyond/ in response to the GAB piece about twitter and feminism: http://genderacrossborders.com/2010/04/14/feminism-and-twitter/ While it doesn’t address blogging specifically and was prompted by the twitter debate, it does address blogging as one of the tools of activism supported by social media. I started my blog in 2008 but it wasn’t until I started tweeting in 2009 that I was able to disseminate my content to a wider audience. In the same way that it was established through these online conversations and blogs that twitter is part of the new wave of activism, blogging is another tool that is part of a larger whole. Russell Simmons just wrote a piece for HuffPo last week on the same topic: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/russell-simmons/social-media-is-the-new-h_b_545849.html Thanks for posting this question. I’m excited to read the rest of the comments. Collectively, tweeting and blogging, allowed me to expand my community, build new relationships with like-minded individuals across the globe and share information at an increasingly rapid rate. Blogs, specifically, have allowed this ever expanding community to create dialogue and build on one another’s thoughts. Case in point: I wrote this for Ms last week: http://msmagazine.com/blog/blog/2010/04/20/unretouched-photos-empowering-or-just-more-empower-tainment/ and it inspired this blog post http://thedelphiad.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/beauty-isnt-the-problem-its-ownership-is/ as well as creating a new ally.

  2. April 26, 2010 11:51 am

    I just wrote; Using Social Networking Media for Global Health Activism on my blog yesterday;have a look: http://drsharonufberg.com/blog
    For women in particular, these points of entry are places of important connection and empowerment.

  3. Taylor Michaels permalink
    April 27, 2010 2:40 pm

    This post reminded me of the political theories of John Mills. He essentially explains that a society works most efficiently when all members are freely able to express their own opinions- good or bad. Is this not what blogging (and 21st Century communication in its entirety) allows us to do? Perhaps by passing on ideas are we able to build upon our one. Maybe we take what we like and maybe we ascertain to leave what we don’t like, and as a result we are able to create communtities united next to similar stands on issues.

Trackbacks

  1. uberVU - social comments
  2. Recommended Reading 4-28-2010 | Small Strokes
  3. The Sexist Side of Social Networks « Gender Across Borders
  4. Announcing the Global Feminism series « Gender Across Borders
  5. REMINDER: Global Feminism series starts in one week! « Gender Across Borders
  6. SERIES REMINDER: Global Feminism starts tomorrow! « Gender Across Borders

Comments are closed.

  • Previous Series at GAB

  • TWITTER: What’s going on @GABblog

  • Top Posts

  • Recommended Reading

  • We participated in Blog for International Women’s Day 2010.

  • NetworkedBlogs

