Skip to content

GAB Book Giveaway!

May 25, 2010

Hi GAB readers! I’m very excited to announce our first giveaway!

Try to Remember is the debut novel from award-winning poet and expert in US immigration and asylum law Iris Gomez. The novel tells the story of Gabriela, a Latina daughter who attempts to sustain her family as her father battles with mental illness after immigrating to the United States. In light of the recent anti-immigrant law in Arizona, and the feminist community’s response to it, the timing of this giveaway could not be more appropriate.

This is not only your chance to win a free book, but your chance to give us some feedback on the site! In order to enter yourself for the giveaway, please leave a comment below with your thoughts on GAB: what you like, what you would like to see more of, etc.

To enter yourself more than once, mention us in a tweet with your comments (@GABblog) or leave a comment on our Facebook wall.

We will pick two winners randomly on Friday morning at 10 am CST.

Update: our winners have been picked in this post. Because the giveaway is over, we have closed the comments for this post. We plan to do more giveaways in the future.

12 Comments
  1. hippocampa permalink
    May 25, 2010 2:43 pm

    It’s not for the free book, but for the feedback 🙂
    I started following this blog on twitter soon after I joined it last summer. I find myself clicking the links you post often. You provide a good source of information, leaving out the nonsense. Keep up the good work.

  2. Maria Guzman permalink*
    May 25, 2010 3:18 pm

    GAB is outstanding for its broad explorations of topics that need consistent exposure. I’ve learned a lot about issues through this site, and feel very special for being given the opportunity to write about a couple of topics for GAB, too. Immigration is especially important to me, and I respect GAB’s attention to this topic 🙂

    Maria

  3. buckeyeblossom permalink
    May 25, 2010 3:51 pm

    I started following GAB via twitter and it was a wonderful decision. I often find myself retweeting articles because I find them quite compelling. I also like that GAB covers a wide range of subjects from entertainment (I really enjoyed the women singers piece recently) to human rights issues. Honestly, what I can say is keep up the good work.

  4. Gae Broadwater permalink
    May 25, 2010 4:16 pm

    GAB is one of my favorite FB friends and websites. It helps me feel connected to the outside world when I’ve been locked down at my desk all day. Regardless of the nature of the stories shared, I always feel hopeful after visiting the site. It makes me realize that I can do something–if it is just sharing what is printed on the screen. Thank you for keeping this site alive and lively!

  5. Colleen Hodgetts permalink*
    May 25, 2010 4:20 pm

    Thanks for the feedback! I forgot to put up before that we will be picking a winner on Friday morning.

  6. May 25, 2010 9:53 pm

    I have GAB linked under “Blogs I Read Regularly” on the sidebar of my blog:
    http://bonniesbooks.blogspot.com/
    That way, I always know when anything new is posted, and I check several times a day.

    GAB helps me keep up with — and find out about — issues important to women. That’s especially important to me because I’m writing a book related to both women’s issues and the way women are helping and supporting each other through social networks and blogs.

    ~~~ Bonnie

  7. May 25, 2010 10:18 pm

    Wow, this book sounds perfect for me…Not only am I a feminist and a book-lover, I’m a double major in Psychology and Spanish (with a minor in Family Studies). I found this blog on Tumblr and I’m really glad I did. I especially enjoy the international stories and issues because even though there are still boundaries to be crossed and strides to be made in terms of feminism in the United States, it’s important to have a global perspective and remember how far we have to go to achieve equality.

  8. Amanda Fleetwood permalink
    May 26, 2010 4:52 pm

    GAB has quickly become my favorite blog. It is so important to link feminism with the international community, especially with the issues plaguing the women of the global South – those who have not had a voice via the online platform before – and I become more encouraged and hopeful for the future of the international women’s/feminist movement when I read this blog. The broad variety of topics and the interaction with the readers is an amazing contribution to the movement. Thank you, Gender Across Boarders, and keep up the good work!

  9. May 27, 2010 8:06 pm

    I would love to be entered. I love GAB for bringing so many great articles and issues to my attention. Such an incredible blog. I have been reading a lot on women’s and gender studies and here you bring up related and new issues that are so important. Thanks!

  10. wendy wallach permalink
    May 28, 2010 10:26 am

    I like that you are addressing things on a global level and can appeal to people in different countries who have the very same issues.

    madamerkf at aol dot com

    • May 28, 2010 11:03 am

      Hi Wendy!

      Thanks so much for your comment. Unfortunately the winners were picked this morning at 10am–I’ve now closed the comments. We’ll have more giveaways in the future!

Trackbacks

  1. GAB Book Giveaway! « Gender Across Borders

Comments are closed.

  • Previous Series at GAB

  • TWITTER: What’s going on @GABblog

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Top Posts

  • Recommended Reading

  • We participated in Blog for International Women’s Day 2010.

  • NetworkedBlogs

